Do you co-op?

Do you co-op?  What’s your co-op experience?

We joined a preschool co-op 2 years ago when we were first contemplating homeschool.  At first, it was a great experience.  A great group of moms. Great kids. Fun environment.  It really encouraged me that this could be the right path for us!!

And then about halfway through the year, families started dropping like flies.  Families with older kids who had been homeschooling for years were now making the decision to put their kids in public school.  I realize that that decision is intensely personal and specific to each family, at that specific point in life.  HOWEVER, as a newbie who was just barely considering homeschooling, it was incredibly discouraging to see long time homeschoolers change paths and go to pubic school.  I felt like maybe those families had discovered something that I didn’t yet know which led them away from homeschooling.  It definitely had me questioning what was the right decision for us.

Low and behold, two years later and I know that this is the right decision for our family, right now.  I have always been very upfront about the fact that while it is the right decision right now, maybe it won’t be the right decision next year or the year after that.  We are absolutely taking it one year at a time.  And that’s okay.  If I decide to put the girls into public school at some point in the future, it won’t mean that I failed at homeschooling…it will only mean that at that moment, there is a better way for our family.

Anyyyywayyyyyy, back to co-ops.

We have found a new co-op for this year about which I am very excited and encouraged!  I have met the moms and we have a family playdate scheduled before we start classes.  We’ll have class once a week but I’m most excited about all of the events and field trips that are scheduled.  It seems like a true community. A really great community.  And I am so excited to be a part of it!

 

TAG, You’re It!! What’s your co-op experience?

 

 

Leave a Reply

