Bored to Tears!

We are one month into our pre-K school trial. If you are just tuning in, you can read this post to read about why we are doing a in-school trial.  I figured I’d give an update on how it’s going.  A has adjusted fairly well.  She cried at drop off for the first 2 weeks when mom dropped her off (but no tears on daddy drop off days).  After 2 weeks, she got used to the idea, knew when we would pick her up and now no more tears.  She does occasionally cry for a minute or two during the day but is always easily redirected.  She has 4 friends in the class that she already knew from the exercise-playgroup that we have attended since she was a baby.

One day last week, her teacher told me she cried for a couple minutes during the day because she missed me.  I asked A on the way home why she had been crying.  She said “I was just SOOOO bored!!”  Oh my gosh, she had me laughing so hard with that….she was literally bored to tears.

That brings me to the academic portion.  I do not really feel like she is learning anything new.  She goes to school 3 days a week and so far, they have worked on one letter each WEEK and the 4th week was a review of the previous 3 letters.  A already knows her letters so this is a very slow pace for her.  It took 3 weeks for her teachers to realize she already knows how to write her name.  The teachers write everyone’s names on their papers in yellow highlighter for the kids to trace.  A doesn’t like to make waves and likes to please people…so she just kept tracing her name even though she can do it herself.  In the third week, she drew a picture during free time and labeled “Mom, Dad, Avery, Kaylee”.  Her teachers had no idea that she could write her own name, let alone her entire family’s names.  I was/am trying not to be “that parent” so I planned to wait until open house (beginning of Oct) before I brought up challenging her more.  I am hoping that now that they know, they will challenge her more but I totally understand that they have something like 18 kids in the class and may not have the resources to be changing materials for 1 student but I’m hoping we can figure something out.

Stay Tuned….

Leave a Reply

